Saswata Hier-Majumder

Assistant Professor



Magma nanotube.

Congratulations Dr. Drombosky
April, 2014
Tyler Drombosky successfully defended his thesis on April 4th, 2014. In his doctoral dissertation, Tyler developed a novel technique for modeling microstructure in deforming, partially molten rocks at the base of the Earth's tectonic plates. Tyler will move on to work at Luminal.

Links to old news from our group.

Subsurface ocean in Triton.

cmbbutton cmbbutton microbutton bembutton chembutton

Deformation-anneal cycle of microstructural evolution. During periods of deformation, melt is segregated into bands. During periods of quiscence, Gibbs-Thompson effect rehomogenizes the melt distribution.

Gibbs-Thomson effect

We are interested in the area of reactive porous flow using a combination of techniques. In a collaboration with Yasuko Takei at the Earthquake research institute in Tokyo, we developed a new set of governing equations for surface tension-driven dissolution precipitation in partially molten rocks. A process sometimes referred to as the Gibbs-Thomson effect. Combined with laboratory experiments performed by collaborator Dan King at the University of Minnesota, these results demonstrate that dissolution-precipitation driven two-phase flow is able to explain the annealing of melt-rich bands created during deformation of partially molten rocks. These results have deep significance for the existence of melt veins in posttectonic rocks.
This work also involved a collaboration with Roberta Rudnick, constituting Xiaoming Liu's Master's thesis research. Xiaoming studied the chemical signature of porous flow by field studies, using Li isotopes and modeling the distribution during a reactive porous flow. Her research demonstrated that advection of Li by porous flow, rather than only diffusion as previously suggested, plays a major role in the asymmetric distribution of Li in country rocks undergoing contact metamorphism near an igneous intrusion.

This research is supported by the Petroleum Research Fund of the American Chemical Society.