Department Chair: Dr. Richard J. Walker

The Department of Geology is located in two buildings on campus:

Resident Faculty

Ricardo Arevalo, Jr. Associate Professor rarevalo@umd.edu
Richard D. Ash Associate Research Scientist rdash@umd.edu
Katherine R. Bermingham Assistant Research Scientist kberming@umd.edu
Michael Brown Professor mbrown@umd.edu
Philip A. Candela Professor Emeritus candela@umd.edu
Shuiwang Duan Assistant Research Scientist sduan@umd.edu
Michael N. Evans Associate Professor mnevans@umd.edu
James Farquhar Professor jfarquha@umd.edu
Thomas R. Holtz, Jr. Principal Lecturer tholtz@umd.edu
Mong-Han Huang Assistant Professor mhhuang@umd.edu
Alan Jay Kaufman Professor kaufman@umd.edu
Sujay S. Kaushal Associate Professor skaushal@umd.edu
Daniel P. Lathrop Professor lathrop@umd.edu
Vedran Lekic Associate Professor ved@umd.edu
William F. McDonough Professor mcdonoug@umd.edu
John W. Merck, Jr. Principal Lecturer jmerck@umd.edu
Laurent G. J. Montesi Professor montesi@umd.edu
Megan E. Newcombe Assistant Professor
(beginning August 2019)
Sarah Penniston-Dorland Associate Professor sarahpd@umd.edu
Philip M. Piccoli Research Scientist piccoli@umd.edu
Karen L. Prestegaard Associate Professor kpresto@umd.edu
Igor S. Puchtel Research Scientist ipuchtel@umd.edu
Nicholas C. Schmerr Assistant Professor nschmerr@umd.edu
Richard J. Walker Professor and Chair rjwalker@umd.edu
Ann G. Wylie Professor Emerita awylie@umd.edu
Wenlu Zhu Professor wzhu@umd.edu

Affiliate Faculty

Derrick Lampkin Atmospheric and Oceanic Science dlampkin@umd.edu
Fernando Mirales-Wilhelm Atmospheric and Oceanic Science fwilhelm@umd.edu
Raghu Murtugudde ESSIC ragu@essic.umd.edu
Jessica Sunshine Astronomy jess@astro.umd.edu
Ning Zeng Atmospheric and Oceanic Science zeng@atmos.umd.edu

Affiliate Faculty Emeriti

George Helz Chemistry helz@umd.edu

Non-Resident Faculty

Elizabeth Cottrell Adjunct Professor cottrelle@si.edu
Yingwei Fei Adjunct Professor fei@gl.ciw.edu
Wenjie Jiao Adjunct Associate Professor wjiao@umd.edu
Jeffrey Plescia Adjunct Professor Jeffrey.Plescia@jhuapl.edu
James Roberts Adjunct Assistant Professor James.Roberts@jhuapl.edu
Roberta L. Rudnick Adjunct Emerita Professor rudnick@geol.ucsb.edu
Anat Shahar Adjunct Professor ashahar@ciw.edu
Galt Siegrist Professor Emeritus g.a.siegrist@gmail.com
Deborah Smith Adjunct Professor dksmith@nsf.gov
Peter B. Stifel Associate Professor Emeritus stifel@friend.ly.net

Lecturer

Tracey L. Centorbi Lecturer tlcento@umd.edu

Post-Doctoral Associates

Kali Allison Post-Doctoral Associate kalliso1@umd.edu
Valerie Finlayson Post-Doctoral Associate vfinlays@umd.edu
Takamasa Kanaya Post-Doctoral Associate kanaya@umd.edu
Ross Maguire Post-Doctoral Associate rmaguire@umd.edu
Pritwiraj Moulik Post-Doctoral Associate moulik@umd.edu
Andrea Mundl Post-Doctoral Associate amundl@umd.edu
Nao Nakanishi Post-Doctoral Associate nnakanis@umd.edu
Zuolin Tian Post-Doctoral Associate ztian86@umd.edu
Nanping Wu Post-Doctoral Associate npwu@umd.edu

Faculty Assistants

Todd M. Karwoski Faculty Specialist karwoski@umd.edu
Valentina Puchtel Faculty Assistant vpuchtel@umd.edu

Visiting University Researchers

Enriqueta Barrera National Science Foundation ebarrera@nsf.gov
Fabio Cammarano University of Copenhagen, Denmark fc@geo.ku.dk
Saswata Hier-Majumder Royal Holloway University of London saswata.hier-majumder@rhul.ac.uk
Tim Johnson University of Graz tim.johnson@curtin.edu.au

Graduate Students

James Bader Graduate Student jabader@terpmail.umd.edu
Ernie Bell Graduate Student ebell1@umd.edu
Rebecca Butcher Graduate Student rbutcher@umd.edu
Samuel Crossley Graduate Student sdcross@umd.edu
Erin E. Cunningham Graduate Student ecunnin2@umd.edu
James W. Dottin, III Graduate Student jdottin@umd.edu
Benjamin Farcy Graduate Student bfarcy@umd.edu
Joseph Galella Graduate Student jgalella@umd.edu
Chao Gao Graduate Student cgao1@umd.edu
Austin M. Gion Graduate Student agion@umd.edu
Phillip Goodling Graduate Student pjgood@umd.edu
Jonathan Guandique Graduate Student j1dk@terpmail.umd.edu
Goeun Ha Graduate Student goeunh@terpmail.umd.edu
Shahan Haq Graduate Student haq@umd.edu
Kayleigh M. Harvey Graduate Student kharv@umd.edu
Connor Hilton Graduate Student chilton@umd.edu
William Hoover Graduate Student whoover@umd.edu
Quancheng Huang Graduate Student qchuang@umd.edu
Kristel Izquierdo Graduate Student kig@umd.edu
Nivea De Assis Magalhaes Graduate Student nivea@umd.edu
Angela G. Marusiak Graduate Student marusiak@umd.edu
Carol Morel Graduate Student morelcj@umd.edu
Grace Ni Graduate Student zni@terpmail.umd.edu
Willie Nicklas Graduate Student rnicklas@umd.edu
Karen M. Pearson Graduate Student kpearson@umd.edu
Laura Sammon Graduate Student lsammon@umd.edu
Jessica Schobelock Graduate Student jschobe@umd.edu
Joe Schools Graduate Student jschools@umd.edu
Haley Talbot-Wendlandt Graduate Student htalbotw@umd.edu
Hope Tornabene Graduate Student hopet@umd.edu
Scott A. Wipperfurth Graduate Student swipp@umd.edu
Kelsey L. Wood Graduate Student kwood@umd.edu
Tiange Xing Graduate Student tiange@umd.edu
Zachary Zega Graduate Student zega@umd.edu

Administrative Services

Dorothy A. Brown Program Administration Specialist dabrown@umd.edu
Bernadette Gatewood Business Manager gatewood@atmos.umd.edu
Suzanne Martin Program Coordinator smarti@umd.edu
Michelle Montero Program Coordinator mmontero@umd.edu
Joanna Patterson Accounting Associate jpatter1@umd.edu
June Sherer Director of Administrative Services jsherer@atmos.umd.edu
Deborah Yeagley Administrative Assistant II dyeagley@umd.edu

Department Rooms

Rock Preparation and Mineral Separation Labs CHEM 0212, CHEM 0234
Geochemistry Conference Room CHEM 0215 Reservations
Sample Preparatory Labs CHEM 0219, CHEM 0221 Inquiries: Igor Puchtel (x5-4054)
Senior's Room CHEM 1215 Teaching Schedule
Conference Room CHEM 2223C Reservations
Photocopy, Mailroom GEOL 1118
Freshman Geology Lab GEOL 2106
Geology Majors Lab I GEOL 2107
Geology Majors Lab II GEOL 2117
Museum GEOL 2118 Reservations: Dorothy Brown (x5-4082)
Computing Support Room GEOL 3116
Storage GEOL 4112 Inquiries: Philip Piccoli (x5-6966)
Rock Storage Facility Jull Hall 1108