Department Directory

Department Chair: Dr. Richard J. Walker

The Department of Geology is located in two buildings on campus:

Resident Faculty

Richard D. Ash Associate Research Scientist rdash@umd.edu
Michael Brown Professor mbrown@umd.edu
Philip A. Candela Professor candela@umd.edu
Michael N. Evans Associate Professor mnevans@umd.edu
James Farquhar Professor jfarquha@umd.edu
Thomas R. Holtz, Jr. Senior Lecturer tholtz@umd.edu
Alan Jay Kaufman Professor kaufman@umd.edu
Sujay S. Kaushal Associate Professor skaushal@umd.edu
Daniel P. Lathrop Professor lathrop@umd.edu
Vedran Lekic Assistant Professor ved@umd.edu
William F. McDonough Professor mcdonoug@umd.edu
John W. Merck, Jr. Senior Lecturer jmerck@umd.edu
Laurent G. J. Montesi Associate Professor montesi@umd.edu
Sarah Penniston-Dorland Associate Professor sarahpd@umd.edu
Philip M. Piccoli Research Scientist piccoli@umd.edu
Karen L. Prestegaard Associate Professor kpresto@umd.edu
Igor S. Puchtel Research Scientist ipuchtel@umd.edu
Nicholas C. Schmerr Assistant Professor nschmerr@umd.edu
Richard J. Walker Professor rjwalker@umd.edu
Ann G. Wylie Emerita Professor awylie@umd.edu
Wenlu Zhu Associate Professor wzhu@umd.edu

Affiliate Faculty

Antonio J. Busalacchi ESSIC tonyb@essic.umd.edu
Bruce James Environmental Science and Technology brjames@umd.edu
Michael Kearney Environmental Science and Technology kearneym@umd.edu
Derrick Lampkin Atmospheric and Oceanic Science dlampkin@umd.edu
Fernando Mirales-Wilhelm Atmospheric and Oceanic Science fwilhelm@umd.edu
Raghu Murtugudde ESSIC ragu@essic.umd.edu
Jessica Sunshine Astronomy jess@astro.umd.edu
Ning Zeng Atmospheric and Oceanic Science zeng@atmos.umd.edu

Affiliate Faculty Emeriti

George Helz Chemistry helz@umd.edu

Non-Resident Faculty

Ricardo Arevalo Adjunct Assistant Professor ricardo.d.arevalo@nasa.gov
John Karl Bohlke Adjunct Professor jkbohlke@usgs.gov
Andrew Campbell Adjunct Associate Professor campbell@geosci.uchicago.edu
Elizabeth Cottrell Adjunct Associate Professor cottrelle@si.edu
Yingwei Fei Adjunct Professor fei@gl.ciw.edu
Wenjie Jiao Adjunct Associate Professor wjiao@umd.edu
James Roberts Adjunct Assistant Professor James.Roberts@jhuapl.edu
Roberta L. Rudnick Adjunct Emerita Professor rudnick@geol.ucsb.edu
Anat Shahar Adjunct Assistant Professor ashahar@ciw.edu
Steven B. Shirey Adjunct Professor shirey@dtm.ciw.edu
Deborah Smith Adjunct Professor dksmith@nsf.gov
Sorena Sorensen Adjunct Professor sorena@volcano.si.edu
Andrew Steele Adjunct Professor asteele@ciw.edu
Peter B. Stifel Associate Professor Emeritus stifel@friend.ly.net
Ray Willemann Adjunct Associate Professor raywillemann@gmail.com

Lecturer

Tracey L. Centorbi Lecturer tlcento@umd.edu

Post-Doctoral Associates

Katherine Bermingham Post-Doctoral Associate kberming@umd.edu
Scott Burdick Post-Doctoral Associate sburdick@umd.edu
Shuiwang Duan Post-Doctoral Associate sduan@umd.edu
Pritwiraj Moulik Post-Doctoral Associate moulik@umd.edu
Andrea Mundl Post-Doctoral Associate amundl@umd.edu
Tolulope M. Olugboji Post-Doctoral Associate olugboji@umd.edu
Juan Rodriguez-González Post-Doctoral Associate jrglez@umd.edu
Nanping Wu Post-Doctoral Associate npwu@umd.edu
Bin Xia Post-Doctoral Associate binxia@umd.edu

Faculty Assistants

Diana Bojanova Faculty Assistant dboj@umd.edu
Todd M Karwoski Faculty Assistant karwoski@umd.edu
Valentina Puchtel Faculty Assistant vpuchtel@umd.edu

Visiting University Researchers

Enriqueta Barrera National Science Foundation ebarrera@nsf.gov
Saswata Hier-Majumder Royal Holloway University of London saswata.hier-majumder@rhul.ac.uk
Jing Huang jhuang30@umd.edu
Tim Johnson University of Graz tim.johnson@curtin.edu.au
Mathias Trachsel mtrachs@umd.edu
Zoltan Zajacz ETH-Zurich zoltan.zajacz@erdw.ethz.ch

Graduate Students

Hailong Bai Graduate Student baigo@umd.edu
Ernie Bell Graduate Student ebell1@umd.edu
Samuel Crossley Graduate Student sdcross@umd.edu
Erin E. Cunningham Graduate Student ecunnin2@umd.edu
Tom Doody Graduate Student tdoody@terpmail.umd.edu
James W. Dottin, III Graduate Student jdottin@umd.edu
Chao Gao Graduate Student cgao1@umd.edu
Austin Gion Graduate Student agion@umd.edu
Phillip Goodling Graduate Student pjgood@umd.edu
Meng Guo Graduate Student meng727@umd.edu
Mitchell Haller Graduate Student mhaller5@umd.edu
Shahan Haq Graduate Student haq@umd.edu
Brian Harms Graduate Student bharms@umd.edu
Kayleigh M. Harvey Graduate Student kharv@umd.edu
Connor Hilton Graduate Students chilton@umd.edu
John Hollingsworth Graduate Student jwholl@umd.edu
William Hoover Graduate Student whoover@umd.edu
Jiangyi Hou Graduate Student jyhou@umd.edu
Guangyu Huang Visiting Graduate Student
Quancheng Huang Graduate Student qchuang@umd.edu
Kristel Izquierdo Graduate Student kig@umd.edu
William Kibikas Graduate Student wkibikas@umd.edu
Alex Lopatka Graduate Student alopatka@umd.edu
Dorothea J. Lundberg Graduate Student dlundber@umd.edu
Nivea De Assis Magalhaes Graduate Student nivea@umd.edu
Alexis Martone Graduate Student amartone@umd.edu
Angela G. Marusiak Graduate Student marusiak@umd.edu
Willie Nicklas Graduate Student rnicklas@umd.edu
Karen M. Pearson Graduate Student kpearson@umd.edu
Carolyn A. Plank Graduate Student caplank@umd.edu
Joe Schools Graduate Student jschools@umd.edu
Xiaohua Teng Visiting Graduate Student xteng@umd.edu
Scott A. Wipperfurth Graduate Student swipp@umd.edu
Tiange Xing Graduate Student tiange@umd.edu
Xiaomin Zeng Visiting Graduate Student xzeng12@umd.edu
Iadviga N. Zhelezinskaia Graduate Student zhelezka@umd.edu

Administrative Services

Dorothy A. Brown Program Administration Specialist dabrown@umd.edu
Bernadette Gatewood Business Manager gatewood@atmos.umd.edu
Suzanne Martin Program Coordinator smarti@umd.edu
Michelle Montero Program Coordinator mmontero@umd.edu
Joanna Patterson Accounting Associate jpatter1@umd.edu
June Sherer Director of Administrative Services jsherer@atmos.umd.edu

Department Rooms

Rock Preparation and Mineral Separation Labs CHEM 0212, CHEM 0234
Geochemistry Conference Room CHEM 0215

Reservations

Sample Preparatory Labs CHEM 0219, CHEM 0221 Inquiries: Igor Puchtel (x5-4054)
Senior's Room CHEM 1215

Teaching Schedule

Conference Room CHEM 2223C

Reservations

Photocopy, Mailroom GEOL 1118
Freshman Geology Lab GEOL 2106
Geology Majors Lab I GEOL 2107
Geology Majors Lab II GEOL 2117
Museum GEOL 2118 Reservations: Dorothy Brown (x5-4082)
Computing Support Room GEOL 3116
Storage GEOL 4112 Inquiries: Philip Piccoli (x5-6966)
Rock Storage Facility Jull Hall 1108