50th Anniversary Celebration

October 7th, 2023

We are excited that the Department is approaching completion of its 50th year since its inception. To recognize this milestone, we are hosting a series of events that will culminate with a party on the evening of Saturday, October 7th, 2023, at the Samuel Riggs IV Alumni Center on campus.

Register for the 50th Anniversary Celebration
Submit photos to be displayed at the 50th Anniversary Celebration

Tentative Schedule

Friday October 6th

1:00 pm

Geology Senior Thesis Mid-Semester Oral Presentations
Location: TBD

Saturday October 7th

9:00 am - 11:30 am

Field Trip: "Changes in the Hydrology, Morphology, and Water Quality of Campus Creek"
Meeting Point: In Front of the Geology Building

11:30 am - 2:00 pm

Explore Downtown College Park for Lunch

2:00 pm - 5:30 pm

Laboratory and Museum Tours
Locations: Geology, Physics, Chemistry, Biochemistry and Atlantic Buildings

6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Welcome Reception
Location: Samuel Riggs IV Alumni Center

7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Location: Samuel Riggs IV Alumni Center

An Opportunity to Make an Impact

To celebrate our 50th anniversary in a meaningful way, we need your help in establishing a new, general endowment fund. Thanks to the generosity of a distinguished alumnus, we have the lead commitment to establish the William Smith Endowed Program Support Fund in Geology. Additional information can be found here.


We gratefully acknowledge contributions by the Department of Geology, the College of Computer, Mathematics and Natural Sciences, University Relations and an anonymous donor to make this celebration possible.

Additional Information

For additional information, email geo-aluminfo@umd.edu